Adorable/Terrifying

 

We just finished the whole song-n-dance routine of putting Gus to sleep.  I guess you’re probably not “supposed to” do what we do, which is nurse the baby to sleep, hold him in my lap for 15 minutes until I know for sure for sure he is asleep and then gingerly creep across the room to his crib and eeeeever so carefully set him down, pat him on the tummy, whisper “I love you, buddy, sleep tight” and quietly hustle my ass out of the room before I do something stupid to wake him up.  Apparently this is bad, because eventually your baby will develop Object Permanence and will wake up one evening and be like, “WTF you guys, I thought I fell asleep on Mom, but now I’m in this crib and no one is around me, oh and also here is some inconsolable wailing to really drive the point home that I am distressed.”

But we are not really going by what you are “supposed to” do right now, because we are tired and it’s much easier just to do what makes the baby go to sleep and stay asleep for as long as possible.  I guess we’ll just deal with Object Permanence when/if it rears its head.  I was really worried about that for awhile, but now I’m mainly just sleepy.

Anyway, after I nurse Gus until he is super drowsy, it’s fun/scary to watch him fall asleep.  It’s fun because he makes all these precious little expressions and half-smiles and does this little double-sigh thing and flutters his eyelids and makes quiet little grunts and sometimes even laughs a little bit.  But it’s scary because at any moment, I know his dark little eyes might fly open and stare into my soul and that means I may not be able to get him back to sleep for FOUR MORE HOURS and he really needs to go to sleep because he’s tired and needs sleep, but also because:

1.) I have to pee

2.) I want to sleep

3.) I want to watch the basketball playoffs with BT

4.) I want to sleeeeeeep

5.) My back is killing me, y’all

6.) SLEEP.  SLEEEEEEEEEEP.

7.) Dear god, if he doesn’t go to sleep for four more hours, I’ll start to lose hope that I’ll ever sleep again in my entire life, and then I’ll start crying and poor BT will have to deal with a crying baby AND a crying wife.  Poor guy.

I’m not really sure how to end this post, except to say that obviously our bedtime routine worked out well tonight, Gus is snoozing in his crib, and here I am creating a new blog and trying to navigate the intricacies of Tumblr * and not being too terribly successful at it, except that I seem to have managed to write a blog post, so yay me!  Also, I should really go to sleep.

 

*I have since switched to WordPress, because Tumblr is just the worst.

Leave a Reply

